If you sustained injuries in a hit-and-run accident, you may feel that you have no options.
While Florida law requires drivers to stay at the scene, more flee than you might expect. When that happens, as a victim, you still deserve compensation.
Compensation through insurance
Unfortunately, hit-and-run accidents have seen a sharp increase in recent years. According to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, increased 17% in 2021 with 108,155 incidents. Fortunately, Florida law also requires that drivers have a minimum of $10,000 Personal Injury Protection insurance. While coverage depends on your carrier, your insurance provider may cover 80% of the medical costs incurred due to the accident. If you also have uninsured motorist protection, you may receive additional compensation.
Compensation through a lawsuit
These types of crashes get complicated when it comes to a lawsuit. In some cases, finding the at-fault party becomes an impossible task. Even if the person gets identified, the fact that they run indicates they likely had no insurance or limited resources. If located, the driver who caused the accident will have to pay a minimum $500 fine and potentially serve 60 days in jail. If the crash resulted in an injury, the charges get upped to a felony. That means a possible five-year sentence and a $5,000 fine. A hit-and-run that results in death comes with steep penalties, including a $10,000 fine and a maximum of 30 years in prison.
While hit-and-run accidents come with extra challenges, working with a lawyer may help you get the compensation you deserve.