Florida has considered texting and driving a primary offense since 2019. Law enforcement can stop you for cell phone use as a motorist and issue a ticket even without another driving infraction.
Review the state’s provisions about texting and driving and follow them closely to reduce your risk of a serious auto accident.
Rules for device use
Florida prohibits you from all of the following while driving:
- Sending emails
- Sending instant messages
- Sending texts
You may not use your device for any reason in a school zone or work zone. Otherwise, you can use a hands-free device to issue voice commands, compose messages or make calls.
Drivers who receive a ticket for texting and driving will receive a fine of $30 plus court fees, or $60 for a second conviction or a conviction that occurs in a construction or school zone. You can also receive points on your driver’s license, which can eventually result of suspension of your driving privileges.
Exceptions to the rule
Drivers can use an electronic device behind the wheel in Florida only in certain situations, including:
- When navigating using GPS
- While on duty driving an ambulance or emergency vehicle
- When reporting a danger or crime to law enforcement
- When receiving safety instructions in an emergency situation like a hurricane
- When driving a completely autonomous (self-driving) car
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles reports that nearly 200 accidents a year result from texting and driving. If you experience a serious injury in this type of crash, you may be able to file a lawsuit for damages.