kktp Law Office

How long can a passenger-carrying vehicle operate in Florida?

On Behalf of | Mar 16, 2015 | Truck Accidents |

Getting hit by a truck in Florida is no simple accident. The size of a truck can result in you suffering severe injuries and your vehicle sustaining incredible damage. Following your accident, you need to discuss a few things about the crash. For instance, did you see the driver fall asleep at the wheel? Was the driver on the road when he or she shouldn’t have been? These are important questions that need to be answered.

According to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, there are maximum driving times allowed for passenger-carrying vehicles. If you were struck by a bus, like a double-decker, or a larger Greyhound, then you may be interested in these laws.

Drivers of these vehicles are not allowed to drive over 10 hours per day if they’ve only come off eight hours off duty. This is to make sure the driver has enough time to eat and sleep before getting back behind the wheel. In addition, the maximum number of hours a driver can drive passengers is 60 hours in seven consecutive days if the employer doesn’t run these vehicular services every day. If the employer does run the vehicular services every day, then 70 hours is the limit per eight days of consecutive work.

While some of these laws may seem stringent, they are there to protect other motorists. Required time off helps make sure drivers are awake, rested, and aware while they’re behind the wheel, keeping passengers and drivers on the road safe from harm. In addition, limiting the number of hours a driver can be on the road helps prevent fatigue and the risk of a driver falling asleep behind the wheel.

Source: Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, “Part 395 Hours of Service of Drivers” accessed Mar. 16, 2015