As a motorcyclist in Florida, you know what you need to do to be safe on the road, but are you certain you’re covered by insurance if someone hits you in an accident and doesn’t have insurance? What about if you’re involved in a hit-and-run accident? There are several different kinds of auto insurance in Florida, and Florida motorcycle insurance differs by law. You need to carry motorcycle insurance, just like other motorcyclists do.
If you’re in an accident with another motorcyclist who doesn’t have insurance, he or she can be penalized for not having insurance. One may have a motorcycle license and other licenses suspended, have one’s motorcycle registration suspended, or have to pay fees to regain legal driving privileges. On top of that, you could potentially sue him or her for compensation, since the party would have no insurance to cover your accident.
The problem with that is, of course, that the person may not be able to pay the money you need to cover your injuries or future needs. Insurance companies can pay out in lump sums individuals tend not to have on hand. That’s why protecting yourself with your own insurance is a better option than leaving it up to chance.
In Florida, every motorcyclist should have motorcycle insurance. The minimum requirements by law include a $10,000 limit for one person’s bodily injuries, $20,000 for two or more people’s injuries. And $10,000 for property damage. As a past victim and motorcyclist, you may want to consider having uninsured motorist coverage in addition to your insurance. That coverage provides the compensation you need when someone else doesn’t have the insurance one should have.
Source: FindLaw, “Florida Motorcycle Insurance” Oct. 01, 2014